studies show that criminals get a low level of education. Some people believe that the best way to reduce the crime is educating people in prison so they can get a job after leaving prison. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Crime often comes in tandem with illiteracy in a community. accordingly, one school of thought is of the opinion that educating criminals while doing time will lessen the rate of recidivism since it makes criminals more employable . My sentiment is on pair with this opinion. The effectiveness of such an approach will be proven by looking at some probable consequences of this solution.

Firstly, vocational education is usually hailed as a key to prevent prison inmates from coming into contact with the law again. To illustrate, based on global statistics, prison inmates who acquired some necessary occupational skills, while locked up in jail, reveal a relevantly lower law infringement after resuming their ordinary lives outside prisons. The reason seems clear: having access to secure job positions and earning substantially obviates the need to break the law to live a life.

Secondly, learning can change people's mindset as it is proven that our brain is plastic enough even after maturity. That is because human's brain is scientifically proven to be able to reshape over the lifespan. Therefore, since the provenance of a majority of these criminals is penniless families who could not afford a decent education before being handcuffed, they'd better be given an opportunity to learn productively. As a result, believing in the rehabilitation possibility of these criminals, especially those of petty crimes, justifies the efforts made to exposed prisoners to proper education. Thus, the opportunity to introduce prisoners to a new perception of life should be embraced by authorities.

By contrast, prison education programs are not without opposition and there is often little public sympathy for prisoners. Arguments made against prison education mostly include that inmates do not deserve the right to be educated; doing so is being "soft on crime", and that it is a waste of taxpayers' money. However, it should be noted that this provided training is a rewarding remedy which might save more than it costs since it is can bring criminals to repentance.

To conclude, prison education not only can change an individual's personality but also it will teach them the necessary skills to work after their release. Hence, this will reduce recidivism as a prior goal of incarceration, so it seems advisable to fund such a means in order to keep communities safe.