Studies suggest that many teenagers these days prefer socialising online to meeting one another in person.

Why do you think this is the case?

What measures could be taken to encourage teenagers to spend more time meeting one another in person?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is widely recognized that young people nowadays enjoy online chatting than meeting other people directly. There are a number of reasons behind this tendency and several solutions should be adopted to improve the situation.

There are three possible reasons why online socialising gained more competitive edge than face-to-face communication by teenagers. The first reason might result from emotional issues as young people tend to feel shy when they engage in direct conversation. To be more specifically, they may lack of confidence about their appearance and they are likely to be afraid of people making judgements on them. Moreover, teenagers might have realized how convenient that online communication brought about to human life as they may not have to concern about what to wear and how they look. In addition, chatting through social platforms could provide young people with mental and physical securities compared to when they meet strangers, therefore, avoiding being bullied or kidnap which can be committed frequently in some enormous cities in the world, New York, for instance.

Fortunately, several measures could be taken to prevent this problem. Firstly, more social clubs and activities should be organized for young people to engage in, thereby detering them from spend excessive time on social networks. For instance, a number of universities in Vietnam have established numerous communication clubs in which students could freely express their opinions and ideas for the new projects. Secondly, parents who having their children at the teenage age should control time over their offsprings with the aim to encourage them socialize more in person.

In conclusion, it is clear that there are various reasons for teenagers prefer online socialising, and steps need to be taken to tackle this problem.