Many countries import large amounts of food from other parts of
the world. Is this a positive or negative development?
It is true that many countries rely on food imports from all over the world. While the
volume of such imports has increased over recent years, in my view this is a trend which
has more disadvantages than advantages.
On the one hand, there are positive aspects of importing food. Some countries need to
import food in order to feed their population. Their land may be poor for growing crops,
with deserts or mountainous regions in which natural resources are soon depleted.
Climate may be another factor which drives countries to import food, in the case of
prolonged droughts or excessive cold. Other countries, however, simply import food in
order to satisfy the tastes of consumers. It is, for example, pleasant to eat tropical fruits
or rice during a European winter, even though such food has to be imported from
countries which are thousands of miles away.
On the other hand, considering the ecological crisis facing the world today, the
arguments against large-scale imports of food are overwhelming. Firstly, in order to
reduce their carbon footprint and reduce reliance on fossil fuels, countries must seek to
limit the number of food miles required to provide their people with a healthier diet.
Dependence on freight services to transport food all over the world simply increases
global warming. Secondly, food which has to be imported is not fresh. It is often
treated with chemical preservatives or is genetically modified in order to extend its shelf
life. This is damaging in terms of both health and the environment.
In conclusion, in my opinion the trend towards the import of large amounts of food is,
despite its advantages, a negative trend which is contributing to environmental
degradation.