Studies suggest that many teenagers these days prefer socialising online to meeting one another in person.

Why do you think this is the case?

What measures could be taken to encourage teenagers to spend more time meeting one another in person?

These days, teenagers show a far stronger preference for online communication than direct conversation. I firmly believe this phenomenon has actually stemmed from teenagers' lack of social experience in communicating and a project of reducing admissions for social events for teenagers would probably tackle this problem.

The main reason why most teenagers detest meeting others in person is that they are socially inexperienced in communication. Teenagers, in modern societies, are, in fact, born and raised in an environment surrounded by electronic devices, and therefore are more used to communicating online rather than directly. Take me as an example, as a typical gen Z, I mostly communicate through texting apps and social platforms such as: Instagram, Facebook, Zalo,...While I can easily express my ideas through text messages and emoji icons, I find it extremely hard to start and maintain a direct conversation with others, which easily leads to unpleasant and award experience. Most teenagers like me, it is our unfamiliarity with face-to-face conversations that deter us from enjoying meeting others in person.

Furthermore, I strongly recommend lawmakers should enact a project to subsidise the admission fee of social gathering events for students in order to encourage youngsters to socialise directly. The subsidised rate surely would be a great motivation for teenagers to participate in social events, where they would have plenty of opportunities to meet and talk with people of all ages, which subsequently help to enhance their social skills. In my city, for instance, a similar project has recently been enacted. While in the past, city events were mostly attended by adult and senior citizens, the subsidised prices have now attracted more and more teenagers to these events. And these teenagers often gather in groups and constantly talk and share with others directly and confidently. This project has surely made social gathering events an excellent occasions for the young in my country to meet people in person more.

In conclusion, the key reason that youngsters now prefer to online communicating is the lack of social skills in communicating. And a campaign of reducing prices of social events for students would tremendously help teenagers improve their communication skills and subsequently be more comfortable in face-to-face meetings.