Studies suggest that many teenagers these days prefer socialising online to meeting one another in person.

Why do you think this is the case?

What measures could be taken to encourage teenagers to spend more time meeting one another in person?

Internet has advanced substantially and many apps have been created on its basis with fascinating functions with socialising online as an epitome. However, it also the reason for a growing concern amongst youngsters that online meeting is step by step replacing the traditional contact. This essay would attempt to look at the main causes of this tendency and the stages to dealt with it.

There is a wide array of reasons that can be easily noticed in this phenomenon. Firstly, socialising on sites such as Facebook, youngsters are able to talk with people who are in different countries, whereas, they rarely have a chance to meet and communicate with anyone outside of their immediate circle or community when meeting real person. Secondly, online meeting protect adolescents whose health have not developed completely yet. For example, in the context of the pandemic which COVID-19 spreads largely, close contacts can easily get teenagers to suffer from this extremely hazardous disease, therefore, socialising remotely enables juveniles to have a conversation with other without any risks.

There are several methods to be proposed for adults to adress this phenomenon. Put a limit on the time that their children spend on the internet. As this feature, parents can control the time their children being online and also force them to communicate with real people. By the way, requesting the authority to enhace the quality of the local infrastructures such as playgrounds, parks to make it more appealing for the youngsters and their friends, hence, they will choose to hang out rather than staying online.

To conclude, socialising on the internet have hugely advantages for teenagers but it should only be as important as meeting face to face and different measures might be applied to inspire adolescents meeting real people.