Some people think that paying taxes is enough to contribute to the society. Others argue that being a citizen involves more responsibilities. Discuss, what is your opinion?

The growth of one nation undoubtedly depends on various factors. While a school of thought is adamant that taxes take an optimum role in contributing to the society, others contend that the responsibility of a resident requires more. Both of the viewpoints will be elaborated in this essay before I explain why I side with the latter.

Paying taxes is a way for the government to tackle a hulk of problems. Those money would be allocated to improving the military which is for the sake of nations’ peace. Additionally, with regard to strengthening the relationship with other countries, money from the authority’s budget would be spent on diplomacy. For example, providing aid to places that are in need particularly during this current pandemic situation has been proven to be beneficial for the bond between nations. More importantly, taxes also give residents an edge on plenty of fields including using public infrastructures like hospitals. Moreover, financial support for the underprivileged or pensions for retirees are all from the welfare state.

For a nation’s prosperity and development, aside from monetary elements, moral standards of individuals are more imperative. People are responsible for improving their hometown’s image. The hospitality and cultural identity preservations of citizens would have a huge impact on that country acquiring positive reputations globally. Apart from this, laws abiding also create a superior civilisation, which could minimize the risk of one involving in illegal activities,

In conclusion, while taxes are undeniably important, individuals’ quality would be a key for any country to sustain and grow thrivingly.