Today news plays an important role in people’s lives and news media are more influential than ever before. Why is it this case? Is it positive or negative?

It is true that the era we are living is the era of news, especially news media. With the substantial advance of technology, the influence of news is stronger than ever before. This essay would attempt to look at the main causes of this tendency and find out whether it is a positive trend or not.

There is a wide array of reasons which can justify this phenomenon. First and foremost, people these days can get the latest information easily by the applications on their smart devices. The news is everywhere on their devices, thus, they will be affected even if they want or not. Secondly, the world develops expressly that there is always something new each day. Therefore, news or mainstream media are of vital importance to people if they do not want to be backward. For example, crypto coins is a new kind of money that person who knows how to take advantage of it could change their life instantly.

In my personal perspective, I think this trend has its own pros and cons. In term of the benefits it brings, people now are more aware of the world around them. Thanks to the development of internet, they are able to read the news and gain knowledge almost everywhere. For example, when the Amazon rainforest was burning, people from all around the world knew about it by the news on the internet and supported timely to extinguish the fire. Turning to the negative side, it is true that mainstream media is dominantly influential people but the news it provides is not always true. Hence, unconscious people will be affected by the fake news and have the false knowledge as well as behaviors which will lead to further consequences.

In conclusion, it is clear that there are various reasons for the largely influential of news media, and I consider this phenomenon to be a both positive and negative trend.