Techonology Has Changed The Way Children Spend Their Free Time. Do The Advantage Outweigh The Disadvantage?

Children these days do not spend their spare time properly because of the appearance of technology. While I accepted that technology brings children huge benefits if it is used in the right way, I believe that it is more likely to be harmful for kids to adjust the usual habits in the leisure time.

On the one hand, technology offers kids with attractive applications to entertain. Firstly, they can play games on their PC or mobile phones with other players in different states or even in another country. That way they are able to make new relationship and have knowledge about many cultures. Secondly, technology provides adolescents with affordable means of contact. For example, social networks such as Facebook or Instagram allow users to chat with people who are far away without any fee. Therefore, children no longer need to hang out to talk with their friends.

Despite the aforementioned advantages, I would argue that these benefits are outweighed by the drawbacks. Technology can be highly addictive because of its interesting and attractive applications. For instance, many children sit in front of their computers hours each day just to try to get a higher score than their friends in a normal game. It does not only affect their health but also their studying career that homework is sacrificed for a few more hours on the computer or console. Moreover, children eventually do not go out to do the social things. Thus in the future, they will not have the vital life skills.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the potential dangers of the change of anual habits in leisure time of children due to techonology are more significant than the possible benefits.