Studies suggest that many teenagers these days prefer socialising online to meeting one another in person.

Why do you think this is the case?

What measures could be taken to encourage teenagers to spend more time meeting one another in person?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

As the Internet becomes more and more accessible than ever before, meeting their friends online is a more preferable way to interact with others than face-to-face communication among a majority of youths. This propensity is inclined to happen by a couple of reasons and there are two solutions to tackle this problem.

To begin with, one of the reasons for this trend is the utility of the Internet. To be more specific, people can share their daily experiences, stories, information and send a text to others at the click of a button, which is more convenient when compared to physical interaction. Another reason to account for is that the Internet helps you build an incognito profile. In fact, people who are sensitive about their personal information often lean towards social medias because they can interact with the others without worrying about people knowing their true identity.

There are several feasible solutions that can be implemented to remedy this problem. Firstly, the government can diverts more funding to many social acitivites, which is the key to lowering the reliance on mobile phones. For instance, local authorities can organize a musical event for youths to encourage them meeting with their friends and strangers while staying away from smartphones. Secondly, parents should enforce a regulation about the time that their children could use electronic devices for online chatting. If childrens had consumed a considerable time on these devices, parents could either punish them or force them to do outdoor activites. Once youths are aware of the repercussions of using social medias too much, they would be nudged towards more physical socialize lifestyles.

To conclude, the utility of Internet and the ability of building incognito profile are the primary factors reasoning for youths preference for online socialising, and the aforementioned solutions should be universally adopted to encourage younger people meeting in person.