Successful sports professionals can earn a great deal more money than people in other important professions. Some people think is fully justified while others think it is unfair.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The issue of whether top athletes should earn the enormous amounts of money they do or not is a debatable one. Some argue that they deserve it, others are convinced that they do not. For the purpose of this essay, both views will be scrutinised before reaching a reasonable conclusion.

On one side, those who agree with the former opinion provide a variety of reasons to justify their point of view. However, their chief reason is that famous sportsmen and women work hard to achieve the level of professionalism they have. For instance, many renowned soccer players had to cross many hurdles to perfect their eye-body coordination. Furthermore, they provide the people with a magnificent source of entertainment. That is to say, that no one can imagine their TVs without at least one sports channel.

Nevertheless, those people who oppose the first view, who think that the great people in sports should not get paid as much, present their respective points as well. The most significant is that many of the cornerstone professions, like teaching and research, can be better supported if we took some of the athletes pay and invested it in those major areas. I have to agree with this point. As most of the sports are for entertainment and cost a lot of money, mainly because of athletes’ salaries, much of this money can be used to fund a better infrastructure for fundamental issues in countries.

In conclusion, there are convincing arguments both for and against high salaried sportspeople, but I stand behind the view that it is not fair to give these massive amounts of money to some people while allowing other main sectors to suffer. Therefore, I believe that a reconstruction of the pay scale is in order.