Surveys show that in many countries, people are living longer but increased life expectancy has many implications for the aging individuals and society as a whole. What are the possible effects of longer living for individuals and society?

In contemporary society, owing to advanced medical services, human longevity is prolonged. Accordingly, the number of senior citizens is predicted to surpass that of the young. To the best of my knowledge, there are many chronic effects on individuals and modern society for the following reasons.

Firstly, it is note-worthy that continued employment of older workers after reaching retirement is a strategic approach to young labor shortage. Nowadays, many sociological studies have shown that although it is invisible, with the trend of late parenthood, young labor crisis has become alarmingly serious in countries with low fertility rates. Therefore, it will be a grave mistake to overlook the fact that the expansion of aged population is a positive development to sustainability of macro-economic performance. For example, many countries are facing the shrinking workforce, so compulsory retirement has been abolished to expand working ages. This example is the illustration of the fact that older people can directly solve the lack of labor and create surpluses to society.

Secondly, the counter-argument raised by objectors to this is that the growing life expectancy is not accompanied by the increased quality of life for the elderly like chronic diseases or disability. This argument could be true to some extent; however, it is incomplete. What they fail to take into account to this is that local authorities and governments are responsible for taking care of elders, because they did pay taxes during working lives. For instance, statistics have proven that 30% of population over 60 may become demented before they die, and this proportion is constantly growing. In other words, under the facade of prolonged longevity, the old may fall victim to more health problems.

According to the above analysis, we can conclude that longer living affects both individuals and society.