Surveys show that people are living longer in many countries. But increased life expectancy has many implications for ageing individuals and for society as a whole. What are the possible effects of longer living for individuals and society?

The increasing life qualities provided people to live longer than before. There is no doubt that the improvement of life leads to some economic issues on individuals and society.

The trend of families structure have become smaller and smaller recently years, the birth rates have been the lowest even before. Most of the citizens prefer smaller nuclear families than traditional larger expanded families. One of the reasons for this changing is that it would decline an individual's household expenditures. Different from big families past time, the one-born child needs to take all the responsibilities on taking care of his parents. It's true that there will put high financial pressure for an employee on taking care of both their children and elderly parents. For facing the increasing aged popularities problems, some citizens even need to rely on government subsidies.

Noticeably, many developed countries have to confront an unbalanced workforce issue. The growth of geriatric is even higher than the activity population nowadays, there are more retired people in the community, but less new employees in the working area, this result has a direct effect on countries economic because the society workforce is low. Moreover, higher demand for medical treatment from elderly people will put pressure on the hospital system. Moreover, the Government needs to involve more profit to build facilities such as the nursing house, also means that younger citizens need to pay higher taxes in order to afford the ageing populations.

Since taking care of elderly people is traditionally responsibilities for individuals and society, it also put pressure on both financial problems