T ouri sm i s alway s a force for good which enables people of di fferent count ries to
understand each other . T o wh at e xte n t d o you agr e e wi th th i s i d e a?
Th e role of t ou ri sm in t h e world t oday i s widely debat ed, wi t h som e people claim in g t h at i t i s
in deed a f orce f or in t ern at ion al u n derst an din g . However , I person al ly do n ot en t i rely accept t h i s, an d I
wi l l ex plain wh y in t h i s essay .
Fi rst ly , we m u st con sider t h e pot en t ial n eg at ives of con t act between cu l t u res. For ex am ple,
wh en west ern t ou ri st s vi si t u n t ou ch ed part s of t h e world, t h ei r st ay cau ses pol lu t ion f or local
societ ies. W e see t h i s in t h e l i t t er lef t at Mach u Picch u in Peru , an d in t h e dam ag e t o ecolog y cau sed
by saf ari t ou ri sm in Af rica. Fu rt h erm ore, t h ere are n u m erou s ex am ples of t en sion between t ou ri st s an d
local cu l t u res, ran g in g f rom dru n k en Bri t i sh t ou ri st s in Eu rope t o Am erican ‘sprin g break ers’ in
Can adian or L at in Am erican resort s. I n t h ese cases, t ou ri sm act u al ly leads t o resen tm en t an d di st ru st
between n at ion al i t ies, n ot bet t er u n derst an din g .
A f u rt h er reason t o be wary of t h i s idea i s t h e econ om ic aspect . I t i s som et im es said t h at
t ou ri sm im proves in t ern at ion al relat ion s becau se i t en cou rag es t h e f low of m on ey f rom weal t h y t o
less developed cou n t ries. I n real i t y , h owever , t h e weal t h g en erat ed u su al ly st ay s in t h e h an ds of
privat e com pan ies or local of f icial s, an d rarely drips down in t o t h e popu lat ion . Man y of u s h ave
vi si t ed less developed n at ion s as t ou ri st s, an d h ave wi t n essed at f i rst h an d t h e povert y t h at ex i st s
ou t side t h e con f in es of t h e resort h ot el s. W e leave wi t h t h e im pression t h at ou r st ay h as con t ribu t ed
n ot h in g t o t h e l ives of t h ose we h ave observed.
Th i s i s n ot t o say t h at t ou ri sm i s en t i rely bad, of cou rse. Th ere are ben ef i t s in t erm s of
im provin g local in f rast ru ct u re su ch as roads an d ai rport s. Bu t t o say t h at i t i s ‘alway s a f orce f or
g ood’ i s t o ig n ore t h e variou s problem s i t cau ses.