Some people believe that we cannot learn anything from the past for our life today,
while others believe that history is a valuable source of information to understand
human's life.
People have different views about whether we can learn something from the past.
There are various reasons why we cannot learn anything from history, however, in
my opinion, I totally agree with the idea that we should treat history as a treasure to
be a valuable experiences for our modern life.
Admittedly, some people would believe they can gain nothing from the past for some
reasons. It is true that the life we live in has a different pattern compared to ancient
times, with the development of various technologies and the reform of the fabric of
society. Therefore, we are not supposed to use the same solutions as before to cope
with these new issues nowadays, like environment pollution, which never happened
before. Also, if we want to make progress for our today’s lives, we must continue to
develop new ideas when we face the problems rather than copying some from
history.
However, I would argue that we can and we should absorb some experiences from
history, because some events that happened in history can be a source for our
development. For instance, ancient Chinese people used some brilliant ideas like
building a dam to preserve some water resources in order to irrigate farms effectively
and fight for drought. Nowadays, we still preserve that method in some areas in
China to ameliorate the problems of the seasonal shortage of water. Furthermore, we
are able to learn some sports and characters from that. For exampl, some ancient
rituals are still conserved to transmit a social memes and as a media to make us
evoke our public duty.
In conclusion, I believe that history is full of resources we can learn for some factors,
although some people hold a different belief.