Some people believe that we cannot learn anything from the past for our life today, while others believe that history is a valuable source of information to understand human's life.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Past is a helpful alternative to absorb knowledge in recent years, despite its importance, many still believe learning from the past is wasting their time and not useful at all. While there are benefits to look up in the present and future, I believe it is better to learn from the past to better analyze human life.

On the one hand, studying from the past brings lots of merits. First of all, preceding periods are the foundations for better developments. New inventions were created which related to previous theories such as Einstein’s Theory about relativity is being used to predict the existence of black holes and other significant aspects. Secondly, people can avoid making the same mistakes from the past. By observing the former incidents, new precedents can be pulled out which can solve the aforementioned issues. Last but not least, several organizations could prepare for calamities, or predict unprecedented events whenever it occurs. Therefore, this method could bring a positive development for a better modernized and safe society.

On the other hand, this should be a double-edged sword either. Firstly, resources which are over millions of years are difficult to recover and searching. Such as the fossils of dinosaurs, there are minimal proofs that illustrate the existence of dinosaurs and their daily habits, all the information that has been collected is just predictions and unrealistic. Statistics from the past sometimes bring unessential outputs such as the number of balloons that have been blown away since 1980. Last but not least, if people start too much to rely on these sources without progressing efforts, our society will not advance anymore.

In conclusion, I believe both of the arguments have their own merits. On balance, however, it seems that learning from the past brings more significant benefits such as the predictions for the future, as well as avoiding mistakes from the preceding periods and so on.