Task 2: In many cities the use of video cameras in public places is being increased in order to reduce crime, but some people believe that these measures restrict our individual freedom. Do the benefits of increased security outweigh the drawbacks ?

People hold different views about the increase of using video surveillance in many cities in recent years. While some people argue that this invades their privacy, I believe that this invades their privacy, I believe that the advantages of increasing in using video cameras do outweigh the disadvantages.

Regarding the drawbacks of using security cameras, some people see this as an invasion of privacy. Most people living in cities that use public security cameras are constantly observed whether they are out on the street, in shopping malls or at bus stations. In other words, images of people being monitored by CCTV cameras would be recorded and sent to security organisations and governments. In the worst-case scenario, hackers could play havoc with security surveillance systems and spread these images of people in social networks. Therefore, many people feel uncomfortable, even annoyed in public areas.

In spite of the above disadvantages, I personally believe that people would benefit from using video cameras to keep an eye on public places. Firstly, widespread video surveillance would help to deter criminals and prevent crimes. For example, minor crimes such as pickpocketing and shoplifting would hardly take place because they know that security cameras systems are recording their every action. As a result, the use of CCTV cameras would make cities become safer. Secondly, increasing video cameras could improve the efficiency of the police. Specifically, the police could save a lot of time because they could monitor security through screens instead of going on patrols. Thanks to recordings from video surveillance, the police would have more evidence to investigate cases.

In conclusion, although it is argued that CCTV cameras curtails their individual freedom, I believe that the beneficial effects of applying video cameras absolutely outweigh the drawbacks.