There are many different types of music in the world today. Why do we need music? Is the traditional music of a country more important than the international music that is heard everywhere nowadays?

Various music genres can indeed be found all over the world. There are many reasons why music plays a vital role in our life, and I argue that traditional music is more important than the international music that is very popular.

Music is an essential part of all human cultures for a variety of reasons. Firstly, music is the universal language, so we do not even need words to understand what music is saying. For example, in big music festivals or concerts such as Coachella, Tomorrowland, a lot of people from many different countries attend. When music is being played, everyone starts dancing to it. Furthermore, music also creates a connection between participants regardless of their age, race, and gender. Secondly, music is good for memory. Clearly, we could remember the lyrics of a bunch of songs much better than an article we recently read. For instance, in nursing homes, they started using musical therapy to let the elderly remember their past.

In my opinion, the importance of traditional music of a country outweighs that of international music that has been heard in every part of the world. Traditional music represents the culture, customs, and history of a country. Traditional music helps us understand better the people of our country. For example, Vietnamese folk music is very diverse, and it could express the spiritual-cultural activities of country people. By contrast, international music is often catchy, fun attracts the young. If young people continued ignoring traditional music, it would gradually disappear.

In conclusion, music makes a significant contribution to human existence, and I believe that traditional music should be valuable than international music.