Task 2: In many countries today there are many highly qualified graduates without employment.

What factors may have caused this situation and what, in your opinion, can/should be done about it?

In recent years, a large number of students who graduate excellently do not have a stable occupation in many countries. There are two main reasons for this issue which are the overpopulation as well as the lack of personal skills, and several solutions would be indicated in this essay.

The increasing percentage of unemployed graduates firstly is the result of the massive population growth worldwide. Many students nowadays even with academic qualifications cannot apply for a job due to the shortages of employment while there are numerous candidates. Perhaps the most effective solution is to impose a strict regulation on the number of children per family, especially in developing countries where one family could have up to 5 offsprings. In addition, the government should encourage companies and organizations to engage more in novel areas such as space exploration and tourism, that could offer occupational opportunities for qualified students.

Another worth-mentioning reason is the poor-equipped skills of the candidates. It is undeniable that apart from academic understandings, students have to enhance other soft skills to benefit their future job such as computering and collaboration. An example for this point is that in Vietnam, most students who struggle to find a job likely concentrate on theoretical knowledge to acquire certificates, however, pay less attention to practical performances. To deal with this issue, students shoud be proactive to research what their future career’s specific requirements and balance between knowledge and job-related skills.

In conclusion, well-perfomed students tend to have more difficulties to seek for an occupation in this modern age due to the rapid growth of population or not having other personal abilities. I believe those could be solved by government as well as individual’s intervention.