task 2: Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments rather than private companies. Do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals claim that scientific studies should be conducted by governments instead of companies. I agree with the view that not only governments but every company needs to be responsible for carrying out research.

To begin with, there is no doubt that the authorities have a responsibility to conduct scientific research.This is because the governments of different countries can easily co-operate with each other, they may be able to conduct studies on a larger scale, which require a larger investment. For instance, the UK and the EU share common fundamental challenges such as dealing with climate change, tackling infectious diseases in people, animals and plants. Thanks to these collaborations, the top scientists across countries can resolve these fundamental challenges. Another reason for this is that governments tend to pay attention to research areas that can benefit society as a whole. Many Studies related to environmental issues and crime rates are great examples.

However, I would argue that companies play such an important role in conducting scientific research. The first reason is that since generating profit is the top priority for each company, they would make an effort to conduct research more quickly and more efficiently. For example, a company, like Teva has been carrying out extensive research to solve generic drug problem and then provide them for patients. This can lower out-of-pocket costs patients. The second, by investing in research fields of companies will relieve burden on government’s budget. As a result, the authorities would also have more cash to spend on other main areas including accommodation, health and medical services and particularly education which leads to improvement in the quality of life of the whole community.

In inclusion, I believe that both governments and private companies should be involved in research activities.