Task 2: Some people think that the incresig use of computers and mobile phones in communication has had negative effects on young people’s reading and writing skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Individuals argue that the frequent use of computers and cell phones in order to communicate can bring more drawbacks on young’s language skills such as reading and writing skills. I totally agree with this idea

It is clear that using computers and mobile phones as a tool of communication have adverse impacts on writing skills of youngsters. As we can see that today’s teenager who use computers and mobile phones to communicate with different peopel can tend to use shorthand and shortened version of the words and phrases in order to faster communication while texting. Therefore, we are likely to develop the habit of applying this kind of language in their writing style, which might impair wiring skills. Secondly, youth could be too much reliant on automatic software such as Microsoft that can correct spelling errors or grammar mistakes. As a result, we may not detect our faults and correct ourselves

I belive that excessive exposure to computers and cell phones have detrimental influences on reading skills as well . It is noticable that youth could prefer to read newspapers about celebrities or haedlines that often contain simple sentences and vocabularies at the basic level. People reading these newspapers frequently can lead to lack of academic lexical resources which are necessary for our higher education in the future. In addition to this, podcasts on computers and cell phones allow people to learn through listening without reading. Thus, if we expose heavily to computers and mobile phones, we will not improve reading skills

In conclusion, I am of the oppinion that there will be negative influences on people’s writing and reading skills if we depend on computers and mobile phones