More and more students are choosing to study at colleges and universities in a foreign country. Do the benefits of studying abroad outweigh the drawback.

It is argued that an increasing number of students tend to move to a different country to pursue higher education. Despite some evident disadvatages of this trend, I believe that these are outweighted by advantages.

On the one hand, there are multiple evident drawbacks of pursuing education in a foreign country. First of all, culture-related problems could be the main disadvantage when it comes to study abroad. The reason is that adopting a new culture immediately is an uphill task for people, followed by giving rise to tension and conflict. Secondly, studying overseas could place financial burden on overseas students and their family as well because the pay for studying in a foreign country seems to cost a fortune. Consequently, international students can be at a higher risk of mental well-being problems such as anxiety and fatigue due to the deal with financial issues.

On the other hand, there is a wide rage of potential benefits of overseas education. It is undeniable that studying in a foreign country is more likely to pave the way for career prospects as they can get access to advanced educational systems. As a result, they could gain a competitive edge over those who only study in their home countries. In addition to this, studying abroad could create a favourable condition for those to gain deeper insight into various aspects of life since they can make friends from all walks of life. Studying in Canada, for example, has assisted my cousin to have a good grasp of Canadian’s lifestyle and culture.

In conclusion, I subscribe to the opinion that pursuing further education in a foreign country brings more benefits than drawbacks.