• Task 2: Some people want governments to spend money looking for life on other planets. Others, however, think this is a waste of public money when there are so many problems on earth. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In some opinions, it is advisable for governments to pour money into searching for life on other planets. However, some argue that is wasteful and we should focus on problems on earth. I am neutral with those two attitudes.

On the one hand, looking for life on other planets is beneficial for human’s life in the future. To begin with, if life is discovered on other planets, people’s living space increases remarkably, which is vital for humans. Nowadays, because the population escalates sharply and the environment deals with pollution, people more and more want to find a new planet to settle in. In addition, discovering life on other planets is a way to expand knowledge about science, especially about the galaxy. That is always a mystery for humans and if they discover something new on other planets, they can apply that in order to improve life on earth such as planting new herbs.

On the other hand, that is believed to be unreasonable and they should spend money solving problems on earth for many reasons. First, although searching about life on other planets requires a lot of money, the result seems unsuccessful and we can not find any sign of life outside earth. That situation occurs for many decades and people can not witness any significant discoveries. Second, there are so many problems on earth what need money to help people directly. For example, in some countries in Africa, people suffer from poverty, war, homelessness and they need to be provided money to escape from that condition. Moreover, millions of patients need money to access treatment for diseases.

In conclusion, some people say that the government ought to take money to find life on other planets, whereas others want them to pay attention to issues on earth instead of that. In my opinion, the government should allocate money properly in both aspects.