Some people want governments to spend money looking for life on other planets. Others, however, think this is a waste of public money when there are so many problems on earth. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

While some individuals are of the claim that governments should allocate more expenditures on the search of terrestrial planets, the opponents of this initiative argue that such investment will be exorbitantly expensive and therefore more money should be diverted to solving other urgent issues. Although both schools of this thought hold merits, I agree with the latter due to the following explanations.

On the one hand, there are several reasons for the opinion that governments should distribute more national budgets to the search of terrestrial planets. Due to the exponential growth of global populations, our planet has become denser than ever, resulting in overpopulation that can exacerbate traffic congestion and other heated environmental issues. As a result, seeking another planet whose climatic and geographical conditions are suitable for humans has become an urgent action that governments across the globe should prioritize national budgets for.

On the other hand, the critics of the previous opinion claim that searching for terrestrial life is unnecessary due to concerns over financial waste and the necessity of other alarming social issues. Despite the prolonged expensive search of terrestrial planets that has been carried out for decades, scientists have not found any planet that reveals promising survival signals.

Therefore, some individuals argue that governments should allocate more money to building apartments to accommodate the rising population. If individuals are capable of purchasing homes at reasonable prices, they can be more dedicated at work and increase labour productivity, which will benefit the national economic growth.

In conclusion, although both schools of thought hold merits, I argue that governments should spend more money addressing urgent issues in the current world. The search for other planets often involves various complicated technologies and requires decades to detect a minor of survival. While searching terrestrial planets is exorbitantly expensive and has not achieved any outcomes, the investment in resolving social issues should get more attention.