Task 2: Today many countries import food from different parts of the world. Is this a positive or negative development?

Essay:

In recent years, the consumption of imported food has gained popularity. In my opinion, this has both positive and negative effects in equal measure.

First of all, imported food can bring beneficial to the economic development. Because it can offers to consumers more choices. Thanks to the act of importing food people come over around the world can enjoy the products that non-existent in their own nation. For example, Vietnam and Thailand were two nation where famous for supply rice the most in global, so many European country and the United States have chosen them to import rice by reason of the reasonable price and the top standard. So it will be a huge loss if we rely on the local products. The second reason is import food from different parts of the world can encourages healthy competition among food processing company, and this will lead to increase food quality. As a result, import food can contribute to a country’s development.

However, the drawback of imported food should not be overlooked. The act of transporting food from a country to another have need of frequently use plane or cargo ship. But airplane or freight ship are the most fuel-hungry means of transport in the world. For instance, a typical Boeing747 burns thousands of gallon of fuel per flight and such amount of gasoline burnt is harmful to the atmosphere. Furthermore, preservatives are often added in perishable food so it does not spoil during the transporting time, and some people fear that much chemicals in product will detrimental to the daily use.

In conclusion, I would argue that import food from various parts of the world are generally positive although it have some negative impacts. However, in my opinion, the society should take a good care in transporting food and how to preservative in the right way.