Task 2: Today parents spend little free time with their children. Why is it the case? Who are more affected: parents or children?

It is a common thing that parents and their children have little time for each other. This is the consequence stemming from the modern lifestyles, which creates a big gap between family members.

Perhaps the key reason for this phenomenon is the inevitable hectic lifestyles of today’s world. Adults have to work more hours due to the high demands from their employers. In order to ensure that they can earn sufficient and stable income to help cover family’s costs of living, parents, in many cases, need to work overtime several days a week to fulfil their responsibilities, which often leads to being overwhelmed and exhausted. In addition, the amount of knowledge currently taught at schools is higher than ever. Children are required to complete not only academic subjects but also extra curricular activities such as sports and volunteering work. Therefore, both parents and children have little time left for family.

The main consequence from this trend is the weakened connections between the members. Coming home with the duty of finishing all the household chores, it is understandable that parents only want to use the available time left to relax by watching TV or simply sleeping. The children, on the other hand, tend to indulge in the virtual world where they can talk and share with their online friends. Since they rarely have the opportunities to spend quality time together, a deep understanding for the other members seems impossible. This leads to all members being isolated from their own family which should ideally be a place that provides support and protection.

In conclusion, I believe that the way the current world operates makes all people busier, resulting in fewer interactions and less understanding between family members. Parents should consider to balance the work and family time if they want to build a happy and well-functioned home.