Are famous people treated unfairly by the media? Should they be given more privacy, or is the price of their fame an invasion into their private life?

Celebrities have always been receiving a great deal of media attention since the birth of this industry.Therefore the fact that celebrities' privacy is at stake is just one of many inevitable products of fame that have been long acknowledged.

In fact, instead of the accused unfair treatment towards famous people, the media is beneficial to them in various ways. First, they often get more attention from the public after being mentioned in the media. For example, movie stars like Tom Cruise and Brad Pitt gain more new followers, fans or anti-fan, everytime they appear in a TV show or have an article written about them, which expands their influences and eventually helps them earn more money from activities such as endorsement. Second, both parties, the celebrities and the media companies, receive their own benefits under this type of relationship. While these companies and newspapers are able to attract larger readership of people who are curious about the glamorous life of the celebrities, these stars can partly manipulate their images portrayed through articles, news and videos to the readers and audience.

Invasion of private life has been acknowledged as an inevitable part of celebrity life for a long time. In fact, most famous people are likely to understand clearly the risk of media influence when they choose to put their first step on this career path. In other words, if one cannot cope with the pressure from the media, such as being followed by hordes of paparazzi or libel from some gutter press, he or she should realistically consider other choices rather than the celebrity path. Furthermore, it is still possible for them to keep their private life off the limelight to some degree in case they do want that. For example, by choosing to avoid coming to famous restaurants or attractions where paparazzi often hang out, several stars are able to stay away from unnecessary trouble.

In conclusion, the two basic benefits, fame and wealth, of famous people are partly contributed by the media and it is safe to say that media influence is what they must learn to deal with as it is a natural part of this lifestyle.