Nowadays people waste a lot of food that was bought from shops and restaurants. Why do you think people waste food? What can be done to reduce the amount of food they throw away?

Tons of food, especially from restaurants and shops, are wasted everyday in today’s world. There are two reasons behind this issue and some measures can be taken to mitigate it.

Perhaps one of the key reasons is the improved standard of living. People’s income has been increasing annually while, with the advent of modern technology, the costs for producing primary ingredients such as rice, wheat or meat, have been reducing greatly. As a result, dishes from restaurants are more affordable to most people, to the point that customers often do not consider buying the exact needed amount of food, which is excessive in many cases. Another reason is the lack of appreciation for food that is prepared by others. In fact, it is easy to underestimate the value of the work of others, which is, in this case, the food from shops. If people try to cook their meals everyday, they will probably understand more how much effort is required to prepare a proper meal and remind themselves of reducing the amount of leftover to the minimum.

Turning to solutions, the most effective one should probably be introducing laws and regulations regarding the thrown-away food. Governments can impose high taxes on this category, which will act as a deterrent for wasting food. Restaurants and diners can also set the food limit that one person can buy so that their customers might consider the appropriate amount when purchasing. Lastly, in the long term, schools and the authorities can create education programs and public campaigns related to the food shortage issues around the world to gradually raise the awareness of both students and the citizens.

In conclusion, while the reasons for wasting food stem from the lack of consideration of the public and the reduction of costs for food production, this phenomenon can be mitigated in the short and long term through a combination of actions from both the government and food businesses.