Task 2: Some people think spoken communication is more powerful than written communication. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The debate on which method of communication is the most effective has never been settled for decades. While some people suggest that it is better to communicate by speaking, I believe that written method is also equally significant.

Regarding spoken form, perhaps the main reason for many to use it is that it is an easy and effective way to quickly convey the ideas as the receivers can depend on the non-verbal language while listening as well. This means that through interpreting eye contact and body language the listeners can easily understand the meaning of the sent message. We can see this in presentations in which the presenters usually put just some words on the screen and most of the content is elaborated through speaking and the accompanied visual inputs.

On the other hand, written text also plays an essential part in conveying information. It is often used when one wants to go into details and meticulously describe a subject. For instance, contracts in the business field are always made in a formal written form because the involved parties want to list carefully all of the demanded aspects, which also acts as the fixed evidence of what has been communicated. Furthermore, it is convenient to spread the written text. Books, for instance, are printed and made millions of copies to spread all over the world and the viewers no matter where they live can get the same messages from the authors.

In conclusion, my firm conviction is that both types of communications are equally important and the users of these two methods should consider the most appropriate way based on their own circumstances.