Some people think that mental strength is the most important factor for success in sports. However, some others believe that it is more important to have strong and fit people. Discuss both views and give your opinions.

The role of mental and physical strength in a successful sport career has been widely debated for years. There are valid arguments on both sides, which I will discuss now before declaring a position.

On the one hand, physical fitness plays an essential part in the majority of sports. For example, in order to play a full 90-minute match of soccer, the players must acquire high endurance and stamina, otherwise they will lose the game no matter how high-skilled they are. In addition, superior physical abilities often greatly contribute to the victory of sportspeople in some specific fields. Take weightlifting as an example. The champion of a tournament is the person who can lift the heaviest weights, which can only be done with the most powerful brute strength.

On the other hand, a strong mentality is needed in both training processes and competitions. When preparing for sport events, athletes often have to go through a rigorous routine on a daily basis, and this can be sometimes so challenging that they want to give up. Once their bodies are completely exhausted and refuse any further practice, determination to achieve the best result is the only thing that pushes them forwards. Furthermore, world-class events always place an immeasurable amount of pressure on these athletes. In many cases, just a small mistake or a moment of distraction can cost them a defeat and in the worst case completely break their spirit. It is in these situations, the ability to remain calm and consistent plays a critical role in setting them apart and increasing their chance of winning to the highest.

In conclusion, I believe that physical fitness is the fundamental condition for most sports while mental prowess is one of the key elements of a champion. Therefore, more emphasis should be placed on training courses combining both these two factors if sport professionals want to sit at the top of their game.