Technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Technologies have become a ubiquitous means of entertainment for everyone, especially children as they influence how youngsters spend their free time. In my opinion, technologies have both pros and cons, but their advantages are more influential.

On the one hand, technologies such as television and smartphones have outstanding benefits for youngsters. Firstly, technologies provide diverse ways to utilize free time for children since they can entertain themselves by watching Youtube on TV or listening to audiobooks on smartphones. According to research in the US, 30% of children prefer watching Youtube on television as their favourite hobby because it is undemanding and helps them explore new facts. Moreover, technologies create a new approach to education for children such as educational games to help them absorb knowledge without boredom. Take an application named "Duolingo" as an example, the uniqueness of the app is how it smartly helps users learn a new language directly through games on smartphones without the help of teachers. Thus, Duolingo has attracted a thousand users and successfully helped them master a new language.

On the other hand, despite their valuable advantages, technologies can inevitably wreak havoc on children when overused. Children could suffer from Internet addiction when they spend too much time on their smartphones scrolling through social media. For example, Worldwide social media statistics have concluded that over 70% of American children and teenagers have social media addiction. Moreover, when using television or smartphones over time, children could suffer from mental illnesses as they cannot deal with spiteful words from other people online. 30% of UK children go to a therapist for depression treatment because they see too many bullying words towards them while using phones for social media.

In conclusion, although technologies are evolutionary in the diversity of entertainment and educational approaches, they could precipitate Internet addiction and worsen children's mental health. However, the disadvantages might seem severe but are solved when children have restricted time for technology. However, after considering the factors, I support that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.