Technology has affected people in mostly negative ways. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people assert that technology brings mostly negative effects to humans. I disagree because it also affects individuals in many positive ways.

It is understandable why people think that technology mostly has detrimental impacts on the users. One reason is the rising problem of social isolation amongst those who are obsessed with their technology gadgets. This happens due to the lack of contact with other people in normal daily living at home or workplaces. A clear example is that, since the introduction of portable music devices and headphones, many teenagers tend to skip any face-to-face meeting with family members or friends. Another reason is that health problems are now occurring more often. Some statistics has shown that both physical and metal issues such as short-sightedness, obesity, stress and depression are associated with the use of technology.

However, I believe there are great influences on people that technology delivers. One reason to support my standpoint on this matter is that the advent of technology has completely changed the attitude of students towards their study. In the past, people would have to borrow books from the library and spend time scanning for information. It is not the case in modern days because students are now able to access a sizable pool of knowledge with just a few clicks. With this convenience, studying has never been more enjoyable and pleasure. Furthermore, technology allows individuals to speak their views in politics or any matters anonymously. This eliminate the anxious feeling when sharing personal opinions to other peers.

In sum, I conclude that technology would affect the users in many positive ways, not just negative ones. A correct and balance use of these high-tech devices would improve daily life and minimize the detriments at the same time.