Teenagers are spending an increasing amount of time on the Internet, and this is having a negative effect on their social skills.

Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, people are becoming potential victims of online media by getting addicted to it. This happens by using the Internet more and more often for different purposes, and the teenagers are particularly affected. I completely agree with the statement that this worrying trend might have some dire consequences on their interpersonal relationships and on their ability to work in a team at their workplace in the foreseeable future.

To begin with, this tendency on using the Internet mainly for all the activities in a youth' s life can affect their relations with their families and friends, putting them at risk of becoming socially isolated. To illustrate this, take the example of a teenager who is spending most of his free time playing online computer games or chatting on Facebook or Twitter, instead of undertaking outdoors activities such as going out with friend or doing recreational sports, namely tennis, swimming and others alike, which implies social contacts with their peers. As a result, that person will have less connections with the surrounding world and become an introvert.

Furthermore, by meeting people only on Internet will bring have some drawbacks on a youth' personality, which might affect his future role in society towards others. For instance, isolating himself and communicating exclusively online, will be a hindrance in his struggle to become a sociable persona, able to get involved in a team project which is mandatory to be successfully completed. Therefore, he will lose his working-in-a team ability, if ever had, which can lead to poor performance at work or even being dismissed.

To conclude, ignoring the genuine matters in their lives such as spending valuable time with families and friends in detriment of having mainly online activities can have some negative effects on their capacity of making friends and working with others in their adulthood.