Some people believe that academic subjects such as chemistry, physics and history should be taught in schools, while others believe that students will derive more benefit from studying practical subjects, such as motor mechanics and cooking. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

According to some, high school learners should be instilled with academic knowledge, while others consider that they ought to gain practical experience, such as repairing cars or learning cooking skills. In my opinion, subjects such as physics and history are compulsory for those who pursue intellectual jobs, while having pragmatic skills, such as cookery or car repair, is appropriate for those who seek jobs which require manual skills.

To begin with, having an academic syllabus in the school curriculum is mandatory for those who are already decided in their future job and they are keen in having the appropriate knowledge which will ensure them with the job of their dreams. For instance, before having medical credentials and practice medicine with the aim of contributing on the welfare of the individuals, one needs to gain firstly the amount and the type of knowledge required for being able to have a degree in medicine. As a result, they will learn theory about physiopathology and about the diseases and means of curing them as well, and only after having instilled this information, they are allowed to hone their skills by being trained in hospitals under the supervision of their elders' peers.

On the other hand, subjects such as cookery or car mechanics ought to be also learned as the society demand of this trades is on the increase. In other words, the actual standard of living cannot be maintained stable if the people do not learn how to repair cars or cook meals at an expert level. For example, in order to enjoy the facilities that modern society provides to its citizens, more youngsters ought to be enrolled in these training courses. Hence, owing a car which is working properly or being provided with a good quality food is a crucial requirement of a reasonable standard of living.

To sum up, I believe that young people ought to study the subjects they are inclined to, and that offer them the sufficient information and pragmatic skills to follow their dreams and enjoy their passions.