Television has had a significant influence on the culture of many societies. To what extent do you think television has positively or negatively affected cultureal development? c

Recent decades have viewed a tremendous change which are trigged by television in all aspects of society. Although many people subscribe to believe that television contribute some positive factors to cultural development , this is in fact a common misconception we need to clear up. I personally believe it also exerts an adverse impacts on cultural developments.

On the one hand,with the prevail of television, introduction of various cultures broadcast by it will arouse peoples `s curiosity and intrigue. Also people`s awareness of protecting some endangered traditional cultures would be raised. For example, if people learned that the culture of remote Eskimo community would be disappear because of climate change, it could spark off a intense discuss about this concern in society. At the same time , people would appeal governments to take some measures to protect this culture. Hence, to some extend it is favorable to cultural development.

On the other hand, some sound arguments can be made to illustrate that television would be detrimental to culture developments, Firstly, as watching TV accounts for majority of people`s leisure time, it gradually change people`s believe, custom and even social morality. They Television is reshaping people and society. For example many eastern young people discard traditional lifestyle and lead the western lifestyle which are showed by television. Secondly, to local culture , television will bring culture invasion. For example, one place with culture identity, people are more likely to rush to the place for traveling. Consequently,indigenous culture will be challenged by overwhelming tourist and presumably changed by outside culture. Ultimately,with increasing appealing of television program, people would have no time to study and inherit their own culture. Conversely, they are prone to chasing what is broadcast by television.

Given above arguments, I am convinced that nowadays television have broaden our horizon but it also poses a serious threat on culture development.Therefore, people should pay attention to its negative side-effects and take measure to avoid them.