The tendency of news reports in the media to focus more on problems and emergencies than on positive developments is harm to the individuals and the society as a whole To what extent do you agree or disagree

Nowadays, media strongly tends to favor turning its concentration on social issues and emergencies over introducing novel beneficial improvements worldwide. It is widely argued that this situation exerts negative impacts on mankind. This essay solely agrees with the above idea. This essay will first demonstrate how its positive effect on human’s healthy consciousness, and then talk about its advantage of provoking creativity.

First of all, by reporting news related to social problems and emergencies, media plays a crucially important role in raising public awareness of healthy lifestyles. Many widespread diseases and illnesses are reported to be life-threatening and dangerous to society, and this form of information greatly helps people to protect themselves from being infected. Taking Vietnam as a prime example, due to the outbreak of coronavirus epidemic, Vietnamese government takes advantage of the strong influence of media such as television, or social media to send a strong message about this detrimental virus, and therefore, give its citizens healthy advice to keep the disease at bay.

Another significant point is that broadcasting instant emergencies about many situations also greatly stimulates social creativity. More specifically, this type of transmitting heated information provides people with a sufficient amount of knowledge about an urgent situation, and thus tons of inventions worldwide appear to be a temporary solution to handle an issue. For instance, because of the long-term impact of drought in many regions in South East Asia, the agricultural productivity shows a strong tendency of poor harvesting, resulting in the creation of many filter machines invented to supply farmers with freshwater for agricultural purposes.

In conclusion, media is an important means of providing useful information about heated social problems as well as immediate emergencies, and it not only helps people to be self-aware of their physical health but also hugely stimulates many helpful inventions for society.