The tendency of news reports in the media to focus more on problems and emergencies rather than on positive developments is harmful to the individuals and the society as a whole. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Today, media such as news and current affairs deals more with hot issues which are provocative and violent. some people think that there are definitely several negative effects on individuals and our society. The opponents, on the other hand, argue that there are some benefits that people can learn a positive lesson from it. This essay will illustrate both viewpoints surrounding this issue, before coming to a reasoned conclusion.

On the one hand, there are some people who hold the view that current events on the media are excessively suggestive and it is harmful to our children that they can mimic some violent behaviours. To illustrate, in school holiday, some adolescents imitate criminal events of the news that robbing poverty to demonstrate their deviation. However, I believe that these people argue unreasonable theory and it just based on a few cases. In other words, negative reports can help not only individuals but also our society to be positively developed.

As I mentioned before, there are opponents of the former viewpoints as well. these people present several arguments but the most persuasive one is perhaps that broadcasting emergency news such as pandemic diseases can be an opportunity to protect ourselves. This is evidenced by the fact that it reduced fatality rates by developing medications and hygiene skills when viruses such as SARS and Coronavirus spread all over the world. Another point often made by this position is that we can be acquired the problem-solving skills from it and apply it to other fields including law. By understanding problems showing on the media, individuals can alter the rule which cannot safeguard our lives. To illustrate, a number of traffic laws have been changed based on children-related incidents.

To sum up, it can be observed that there are two contradicting viewpoints in relation to media contents. Although the media broadcast various violent and suggestive news, we can turn it into an opportunity for learning and development.