In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasize that their products are new in some way.

Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Businesses now tend to highlight in their advertisements that their products are innovative. In my opinion, this phenomenon results from several reasons and it can be a positive contribution to specific aspects.

Businesses’ emphasis on their products being modern through advertising is due to some reasons. The first reason is that business companies aim to attract more customers through advertisements of their new products as they believe advertising the new features of their products can attract customer interest in buying. Apple, for example, gains a huge number of loyal buyers for every iPhone release through press events to introduce their new features, such as improved cameras or designs. Moreover, given the worldwide popularity of advertisement, domestic companies can utilize this advantage to promote their products to expand their international business presence. By promoting their products’ potential through worldwide advertisements, domestic businesses are able to strengthen their identity in the industry and gain investments from other countries. A notable example is a shrimp production chain in Vietnam, which attracts substantial foreign investments by building trust and interest via advertisements emphasizing guaranteed hygiene and freshness.

Businesses can contribute positively to the economic progress of a country. Therefore, the more successful they become through worldwide advertisements, the more revenues they can earn from customers. This could also result in more taxes from these companies being paid to the government to serve for the country's development purposes and more breakthroughs being made to the country’s economy. Moreover, by advertising products with updated features, some businesses can show their creativity in an attempt to enhance customers’ experience with better convenience provided by their products. Samsung, for instance, always upgrades a specific feature completely in every new phone release with an aim to provide the best experience for buyers while using it in daily life.

In conclusion, I believe that the trend of businesses advertising their products to be new is the result of the aim to attract more customers and expand business scope. It is also a positive development because this marketing method can show the efforts of companies in enhancing users’ experience in life and help important companies become richer, therefore contributing more money to the country’s economy.