There are fewer controls on the designs and construction of home and office buildings. So people can build them whatever they like.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, building homes and offices is less controlled by the government in terms of the design and construction. While there are many benefits for that, I believe that the drawbacks far outweigh the advantages.

On the one hand, letting people choose the designs of their homes and offices according to their own taste can lead to a sense of satisfaction. For example, some people prefer to have a wide garden rather than a big house, while others do not. Moreover, when there is less control over the way of construction of a building, people will be able to choose the suitable building materials according to their affordability. For instance, youngsters may opt to build their homes using cheap red bricks instead of using highly expensive concrete.

On the other hand, one of the negative consequences of the lack of the government's control over building construction is that this can have a great negative impact on the environment. To illustrate more, using such a material mentioned above increases the possibility of soil erosion, which may lead to environmental catastrophic effects. Furthermore, when people are allowed to choose the design of their homes and offices, they may not take into consideration the designs that help in heat preservation, despite the importance of this property especially in countries with cold weather. In contrast, if the government had more control on defining the design of buildings, this would be more advantageous for the sake of people's safety and welfare.

In conclusion, although choosing people for their buildings design and construction may seem to be suitable for many regarding affordability and taste satisfaction, I have a firm belief that the government control can lead to more benefits for the society as well as the environment.