People living in large cities have to face many problems in everyday life. What are those problems?

Should the government encourage people to move to regional towns?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent years, big cities have become attractive places to live in for most people due to the variety of facilities and high standard of living they offer. However, there are many problems connected with living in such cities, so the government should find solutions for these problems through encouraging people to leave them and live in small distant towns instead.

One of the biggest problems people living in mega cities suffer from is pollution. Because of the large number of vehicles that residents of cities use every day, a huge amount of fuel is burnt, resulting in high amounts of carbon in the atmosphere. Consequently, dwellers of cities are prone to sever health problems in the long term, such as heart diseases or even cancer which is a more sever issue. Furthermore, people in cities usually spend many hours in transportation because streets are always overcrowded, especially in rush hours where they are commuting to and back from their work places. This means that they do not have sufficient time to visit their relatives or even to ask about their neighbors. This in turn may end up them being socially isolated, which can deteriorate their psychological well-being and make them suffer depression.

To solve the previous problems, the government should promote the transfer of cities residents to small regional towns. This can be implemented through different steps. First of all, the authorities may develop these towns by developing new transportation systems and constructing new facilities, such as hospitals, schools, and parks. Secondly, they can create job opportunities to attract young people to come and work in. This can be performed through provision of new industries and investments. Finally, they should lower prices of accommodation in such towns to make it attractive for low-income people to live in.

In conclusion, people in cities suffer from a number of problems, such as pollution and social isolation. However, if the government implemented the previously proposed solutions, it would be possible for many people to leave big cities and live in distant small towns, which would lead to resolving the issues people in cities suffer from.