There are many advertisements directed at children. Parents argue that children are misled, while advertisers consider advertising a source of useful
information. What is your opinion?
The impacts o f advertising on children have become an area of focus in these years. When the
initial purpose of advertising is to disseminate information related to goods and services, many parents
have associated it with their childen’s unjustified desires to buy something unnecessary. Although the
extent to which advertising influences young viewers is a matter o f debate, its impact, in my opinion, is
undisputed.
One o f the main features o f advertisements is giving products an exaggerated account. In addition
to this tactic, advertisers tend to sưess those attributes o f a product that are likely lo be valued by young
consumers, while playing down others. Some advertisements might disclose detailed information about
products (such as health hazards o f overeating some types o f food), but in most cases, such
information appears normally in small print and children cannot read them clearly. Nor can children
comprehend the messages with their literacy skills. As a result, young viewers are susceptible to the
effects o f a commercial, leading directly to their subsequent buying decisions or their thrust for buying.
Another main strategy adopted by advertisers is to associate products with lifestyles that are
attractive to young people and deliver a strong message that the advertised products are what their peers
want and w ill choose. Children are more concerned with a particular label and branded products than
adults, for the simple reason that they are much less price sensitive. They have the desire to possess
products they consider popular, fashionable and likely to be admired by their peers, but seldom take
into consideration the functions and practical values o f those products.
When the negative impacts o f advertising on children are acknowledged, it should be noted that as
children grow up,they w ill make more sophisticated judgements about those tactics advertisers use to
grab their attention. They are less receptive to advertising messages and meanwhile more likely to
perceive advertising as a mere source o f information, assisting them to learn products and services
better. Meanwhile, some advertisements are non-commercial and provide information on such issues as
anti-smoking, anti-drug, AIDS,healthy eating practices, and so forth, in this sense, it is premature to
judge that advertising has no redeeming feature.
To summarise, by enhancing the image o f advertised products, making exaggerated claims on
products and services and portraying a fantastic way o f life, advertising is liable for children's impulsive
purchases. Children are misguided to make a purchase. Althoueh adolescents are less susceptible to the