There are many different types of music in the world today. Why do we need music? Is the traditional music of a country more important than the international music that is heard everywhere nowadays?

It is true that the worldwide omnipresence of music is undeniable. Music is popular for many reasons and I personally argue that traditional music is more important than the modern international music.

There are a number of reasons why everyone should have music in their lives . First, it has been scientifically proven that music contributes to bettered mental health since it stimulates human brains to produce chemical substances which relieve pain and reduce stressors. For example, if individuals listen to classical compositions, their moods would be uplifted and their heads would be cleared, thereby culminating in mental stability. Secondly, by using music as a communication mean, persons worldwide could be connected and understood irrespective of their nationalities and language barriers. The reason is that music conveys feelings and subliminal messages of authors better and more profound than any words do, which would create mutual understanding, harmonization and sympathy among different peoples.

In my opinion, traditional music should be valued over the international music that has been popularized today. Traditional music has long been viewed as the explicit manifestation of a nation’s deep-rooted culture, customs, social norms and especially a history of nationalism and patriotism against foreign enemies. Consequently, such music connects listeners to their ancestors’ root and our cultural and national identities. International modern music, by contrast, is frequently associated with poor composition with no musical intricacies including using obscene topics such as sexual copulation, substance abuse and even religious blasphemy and often labelled and marketed to poor musical taste for commercial profits. It could be such disgrace to the national pride in the event that international music became so predominant that these cultural intangible materials disappeared.

In conclusion, music is a necessary part of human existence, and I believe that traditional music should be prioritized over international music.