There are social, medical and technical problems associated with the use of mobile phones. What form do these problems take? Do problems of using mobile phones outweigh the benefits?

It is true that the use of mobile phones has made fundamental changes in social, medical and technical development. While these digital gadgets bring some potential of benefits for users, I believe that the downside is more significant.

On the one hand, it is apparent that mobile phones have functions that are of great value in some ways. In terms of social communication, cell phones with advances in technology enable people to keep in touch with their family, friends and colleagues more easily by using online applications or social networking sites. For example, Facebook and Twitter are social online platforms in which users are able to send instant messages or enjoy quick chats, minimizing the distance between people. In addition, thanks to the proliferation of the Internet, these mobile phones can be used as learning tools, helping users broaden their knowledge and develop soft skills through online study with English learning courses or other virtual classrooms. Also, with online entertainment channels being available on smart phones, people can spend their time on relaxing after a long hard-working day wherever they are.

However, it seems to me that a range of problems caused by the use of these digital devices are worrying. Firstly, the over-exposure to wireless telephones could exert detrimental effects on users’ health. For instance, there have been numerous young people keeping their eyes glued to mobile screens to play online games or browse Facebook for hours. Consequently, not only can this lead to eye diseases, headaches, but also may cause serious mental health problems. Secondly, the likelihood of people developing a sedentary lifestyle and being isolated from the community is considerably high since the overuse of these wi-fi devices may discourage real interaction. It is common knowledge that entertainment programs on mobile phones is highly addictive, which would make people spend too many hours to play them without frequent face-to-face interactions with the outside world, leading to the downfall of society’s interpersonal communication. Finally, with regard to shortcomings of technology, using mobile phones as a place to keep private documents and a huge amount of personal information would be in dangers of leaking these data.

In conclusion, although there are some benefits of using cell phones, I believe that these are outweighed by other problems.