There are social, medical, and technical problems associated with the use of mobile phones. What forms do they take? Do you agree that the problems outweigh the benefits of mobile phone?

Smartphones have transformed the way people communicate with each other. However,it also leads to some undesirable effects. This essay will attempt to analyze the negative impacts related to mobile phones and discuss why smartphones have more disadvantages than advantages.

Mobile phones adversely influence our social life as it leads to disconnection between individuals. With the popularity of social media, such as WeChat and Instagram, people tend to send messages to others instead of conducting a face-to-face conversation. People may gradually lose the ability to socialize and empathize. In this way,individuals may experience a sense of isolation as they cannot share their emotions, such as happiness,sadness or even anger, with another human being.

Moreover, mobile phones increase the chances of having medical concerns. People who lack self-restraint may spend excessive time on the phone without doing exercises. Because their bodies remain inactive all day,they are more vulnerable to diseases, such as obesity and diabetes. Likewise,their eyesight will suffer due to long screen time. Moreover, mobile phones can damage our mental health. Recent researches have shown that people who spend more time on social media have a higher level of stress because they may make unnecessary comparisons based on what they have seen on the internet.

Mobile phones may also put netizens at the risk of personal information leakage. For example, people may provide their personal details, including phone numbers, ID numbers before signing up for a digital account. Once these websites are hacked, personal information is likely to be exposed and individuals’ privacy will be violated.

In conclusion, it is true that smartphones bring convenience to our life, but I disagree with the opinion that the benefits of these phones outweigh the problems because of all the negative effects it has on individuals as well as societies.