There are some motives for people to work. Some think money is the most important. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people work for money while some people work for personal fulfillment. The motive to work is individual and diverse. I agree with the perspective that money is the most important motive to work, but only in the early stages of a career. After the basic needs of a person are fulfilled, other factors become important.

Admittedly, money is the most important resource which is needed to fulfill the basic requirements. When a person is in the early stage of his career, his basic requirements are not yet fulfilled. A student is required to pay his education debt. Similarly, people in the early stage of their career are deprived of good housing, education, healthcare facilities. To fulfill such requirements financial stability is necessary, which can only be fulfilled by money. So in the early stages of career money is the most important motive to work.

However, when a person advances in his career and all his basic requirements are fulfilled, then other factors become more important than money. First, job satisfaction is one of the most important factors to ensure that a person could pursue his work for a long time. If a person is not happy with his job then even though he might be earning good money, but he won’t be happy with his job. Consequently, he won’t be able to work in that field for a long time. Secondly, work-life balance becomes the most important factor after a person has achieved financial stability. An individual should be able to spend time with his family and friends and should be able to maintain the balance between his profession and personal life. If a job is restraining a person from that, then it will affect the mental health of an individual. That person would be depressed and might even end up leaving that job.

In conclusion, it is no doubt that money is the most important motive to work in the early stages of a career. But after the basic requirements of an individual are fulfilled then other factors such as job satisfaction and work-life balance plays a more important role.