Along entering the 21st century, humankind is facing a serious problem called the intense lack of freshwater. In order to relieve this pressure of water use, both individuals and government should analyze the reasons for this problem and take measures.

From my perspective, there are three main factors that cause the freshwater lack dilemma. First and foremost, freshwater distributes unevenly to an extreme extent. Such as in the country of China, there is a big unfair difference in water resources to be used between north China and the south; Secondly, with the rise of secondary industry, industrial enterprises have a huge amount of demand for freshwater used to manufacture. For instance, it's the construction industry which is the biggest consumer for freshwater whether in which country without any doubt; The third and worst reason for water lack is the pollution to the water environment. Floating garbage and turbidity which results in a reduction of freshwater resources can be found almost everywhere in third world counties like non-northern countries.

For the sake of relieving this getting worse situation of water lack, both individuals and government have the responsibility to take action. For one, to the government, the projects to redistribute water resources can be taken. The South-to-North Water Diversion Project of China is a good study case. Moreover, governments should improve the law system to strengthen punishment to the water ecology-oriented destruction conductions of establishments, as well set a freshwater use volume limitation plus charging system imitating what Australian government has been doing. For another, to individuals, education and advocation are critical and meaningful as they can enhance consciousness of freshwater conservation to the public teach people how they can contribute to such marine dominated planet.

In conclusion, despite some horrible factors that have led to the shortage of fresh water, we still should make introspection and take action to protect the water environment before the situation gets worse at a further step.