There is on inreasing amount of advertiaing directed at children which encouages them to buy goods such as toys and snacks.Many parrents are worried that these adverterisemens put too much pressure on children,while some advertisers claim that they provide useful information to children .Discuss both view ad give your opinion

Advertisements are all around us, especially advertising targeting children, who are considered vulnerable

targets by companies. As a result, many parents are worried that their children are being wrongly

influenced by ads. However, some advertisers claim that they provide beneficial information to children. ln

the following paragraphs I intend to discuss both perspectives.

It is not difficult to see why parents'worry is justified. Children, under a certain age, lack abilities to make

wise iudgments as to what they really want. They are attracted by colourful pictures on advertisement, and

swayed by misleading information. So, they pester their parents to buy those things, and this can upset the

budget of many families. Even the advertisements of fast foods are bad for children. Children cannot

understand that the slim-trim models advertising Mac Donalds burgers hardly ever eat such foods

themselves. They are attracted to fast foods and these are very detrimental for their health.

What is more, some ads show some stunts, and although it is written that children should not copy these

stunts, children hardly ever read that part and in their ignorance try to perform those stunts and get hurt.

For example, in my neighbourhood, one child tried to jump from one rooftop to the other after seeing the

ad of Thumbs Up and ended up with a plaster on his leg. Therefore, parents are rightly worried.

on the other hand, advertisements also provide beneficial information to the children. For example, the

advert of colSate toothpaste, which tells that we should brush our teeth twice daily, is good for children.

Then there are ads about health drinks such as Complan and Bournvita, which are good for children.

Furthermore, advertisements also touch important issues, such as ads against wastage of water, ads for

tree plantation, ads against wastage of electricity and ads for keeping the surroundings clean. Children are

motivated by these ads and try to follow the good things they learn.

To conclude, it is true that some adverts have a detrimental effect on children and should have some

regulations, but at the same time this fact can also be not be denied that adverts enlighten children in

many ways by providing a lot of useful information.