Without capital punishment (the death penalty) our lives are less increase Capital punishment is essential to control violence in society ves are less secure and crimes of

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Before talking about the essential role of death penalty, you have to think about the Meaning, and the purpose, of any kind of punishment. If you consider that the purpose is to prevent the guilty from being naughty again, you can be seduced by an argumentation in favour of the suppression of capital punishment. But you have to think about another aspect of the problemi a punishment is also useful to impress people, to make them fear the law. In fact, let's take the example of a young misfit, which has grown in a violent atmosphere, Influenced by older delinquents, etc.He we in the streets, he's got no alm but to survive. This is the kind of person who could possibly kill someone for money, or even for fun... Why would he fear prison?Life would be easier for him there. In addition, in many case, when you behave normal, you can benefit from penalty reductions. The young misfit needs to be impressed, he needs to know that the law is a frontier. When you cross it, you can lose your life. That is why capital punishment helps keeping a distance between robbery and murder. If you abolish it, you suppress the difference between these two types of crime, which are completely different

But there is also a limit to defines even if death penalty ls unavoidable, it would be a crime to apply it to inadequate cases. If there is no premeditation or past facts which can justify such a punishment. It la far too strict to apply death penalty. That is why the law makers have to establish precisely the context in which capital punishment can be pronounced. That is the price to pay to limit violence without using excessive violence.