The besl way to remove poverty in developing countries is to
provide 6 years of free education to all children so tha they can read or write.Do you agree or disagree?
Education plays a key role in alleviating poverty. That is why, providing six years of free education to
children seems to be a good solution to reduce poverty. However, I disagree that it is the best solution. I
believe that primary education alone is not enough, and steps also need to be taken to maintain the quality
of free education provided.
Admittedly, the basic skills of reading and writing, throws open many doors. Building a skilled workforce
can lift many households out of poverty. Many economists around the globe have proposed that if all
students of low-income countries left school with basic reading and writing skills, it could eradicate 12% of
the world poverty. lt has been seen that the direct cost of sending a child to school, as well as the indirect
cost of losing a source of labour, deters the poor from sending their children to school. Therefore,
providing 6 years of free education seems a viable solution to eradicate poverty.
However, delivering six years free access to education alone is not enough. All children need the chance to
complete not only primary school, but also secondary school. For instance, in a survey in El Salvador it was
seen that 5% of working adults had only primary education, compared with 47 % who had secondary
education.
Furthermore, iust providing six years free education would not be enough, if steps were not taken to
ensure the quality of such education. lt should be ensured that children actually learn. The quality of this
education should be equitable to that of other premium educational institutes. Faculty recruitment,
infrastructural maintenance and pro-learning programs should be effectively monitored by the authorities.
Otherwise, all the government funding can prove futile.