There is a moral necessity today for the richer countries of the world top help the poorer countries develop in terms of feeding the population, education and health care.
f /
Today, it is important to note that the public has a growing appetite for different content areas o f
news, including national, local, enteilainment, sports, politics, weather and traffic news. With news
becoming increasingly important, public attention has been brought to the creditability o f journalists. In
my opinion, it would be over-simplistic to say that journalists can convey all messages to the audience
without distorting them.
Not surprisingly, whenever people talk o / journalism, objectivity is the first word that springs to
mind. Reporters are generally expected to disclose all facts and uncover all sides o f an issue without
introducing any bias, as opposed to commentators, who are allowed to provide personal opinions.
However, in reality, objectivity is hard to achieve. Journalists have to succumb to either commercial or
political pressure, distorting facts and misleading the public. In many countries, news organisations are
controlled entirely by powerful political parties and enjoined to disregard the truth and disseminate
information that guides public opinions.
Another factor contributing to the erosion o f journalistic standards throughout the news business is
that in these years, increasing weight has been given to following news values, entertainment, oddity
and celebrity. To cater for the tastes o f wider audiences, journalists can go so far as to twist the facts,
fabricate news and spread rumours. Many news media have a clear preference on media personalities
and use their public appeal to increase viewing rates, giving these publicities,who hardly remain
neutral, numerous opportunities to express their opinions publicly on a subject in which they have a
personal stake or bias. It is thus fair to say that news is now less trustworthy.
In general, a successful journalist should be first able to use careful judgement when organising
and reporting information. Determination and persistence are required when journalists ought to defend
the freedom o f the press and ordinary citizcns’ right to know the truth, despite being under different
forms o f pressure. In addition, they should be sensitive to and interested in current affairs at all Levels.
In acting as successful communicators and information senders, journalists should also have a good
command o f language skills and a real knowledge o f different cultures, countries, races and social
groups.
As shown above, people have reasons to suspect the creditabilily o f a journalist. Either as a
medium that deliberately affects the public interest or as a form o f entertainment that does not attach
much importance to seriousness^ journalism has failed to maintain objectivity and live up to ideals of
journalistic responsibility. Without showing respect to freedom o f express and conveying messages
accurately and promptly to the public, one cannot be acclaimed as a qualifed journalist.