These days, an increasing number of people in many cities know little about their neighbors and do not have a sense of community. What do you think are the causes and what solutions can you suggest?

In this day and age, it is true that more and more people living in urban areas do not get close to their neighbors, so there is a lack of community sense. There are several reasons for this trend and this essay will offer some feasible measures.

To begin with, there are two main reasons why city dwellers hesitate tobe close with the people living nearby them. The first reason is that life is getting more hectic than ever, so people are constantly up to the ears with job, study and taking care of their own family. In fact, they even do not have time to relax, not to mention spending time to caring about other people. Another reason should be the complexity of society in cities in terms of culture, religions, social position; which makes people feel unsafe when interacting with others. For example, people maybe afraid of being cheated or their assets being stolen if they share their private life with someone. As a result, people keep a distance with anyone especially who lives near them.

However, there are some radical solutions to tackle this problem. Firstly, the local authorities should organize many social events to encourage people to communicate and work together. For instance, there should be camping in the area, party on holidays or cleaning the streets, planting trees. Since these activities bring people together, they will get to know more about each other and feel a sense of community. Secondly, the police should show their strict observation and well management over the areas so that residents feel safer outside their own house. If people feel that they are safe and all criminals are supervised, they will be open more and be willing to socialize with their neighbors.

In conclusion, citizens have become less communicative with their neighbors because of their busy life and unsafety, however, the local authorities and police can take actions to improve the situation.